The Last Lion: Visions of Glory

by William Manchester
List(s):"Carp 500"
Category: "World History - Political"
Year of Publication:1983
Date Read:06/04/1989
Notes:There are two themes to Visions of Glory: the life of Churchill and the death of the British Empire he cherished. The book covers his life from 1874 to 1932. It is a story of high adventure, bitter defeats and the inner strength of the great Englishman whose watchword was: “Never give in. Never, never, never, never give in.” Manchester has woven the strands of the man and the empire into a driving narrative, re-creating the sweep of the past and the private life of England’s last and greatest statesman.

COMMENTS — A second volume, Alone, published in 1988, covers Churchill’s life from 1932 to 1940. Unfortunately, Manchester has grown old and unable to concentrate. He has announced that there will be no third volume.
My Rating: 10

Reviews for The Last Lion: Visions of Glory

No reviews were found for this book
Back to the list